Adding different Input Scopes

When I started this blog it was no more than just an idea. Can somebody who never knew a thing about programming learn about it all by themselves? Can that somebody indeed write an application without any help? I am still in the process of learning. Still a beginner. I know, there are so many things I don’t know (yet). But – and that is the cool part about that whole project – while browsing the marketplace and checking out a few apps I noticed something. I understand how some of those apps work. I know exactly what the developer of those apps was doing in their code. Admittedly that is only true for very few apps, but still. Now, if I would have to write that code on my own, I’d surely struggle, but at least it gives me an idea of what is possible. And it gives me a certain understanding. But most of all, it motivates me to continue.

So, having said that, let’s get started with the real thing, the next topic.

In Windows Phone development, Input Scope is a property that can be attached to a TextBox control. It is also one of the most convenient features of Silverlight for Windows Phone.

There are a number of different Input Scopes, depending on the type of information I want to allow the user to type in. It is the matter of choosing the right one. I am just going to have a look at a few of them.

Let’s start with a textbox that includes an InputScope:

The interesting thing about the TextInputScope is that it is the only InputScope that has spelling suggestions:

Also I get a choice of different emoticons, and I can choose if I want English, French or Italian spelling suggestions:

Let’s move on and look at another InputScope:

Now I get a “.com” key. It makes it easier for the user to enter a Url:

Another InputScope I want to look at is the ChatInputScope:

Here I get the spelling suggestions and the emoticons back.

When I change the NameValue to “TelephoneNumber” I just get a numeric keyboard which makes sense since a phone number usually doesn’t contain letters:

When I change the NameValue to “Number” though, another numeric keyboard pops open:

Changing the NameValue to “EmailNameOrAddress” gives me yet another keyboard:

I can type in text, I have the “.com” key again, as well as the “@” key.

To wrap it up, it is very simple to include different Input Scopes. I can make it easy for the user to enter their information, by simply choosing the right Input Scope for the particular matter.

Here you can find a list of all the Input Scopes.

 

To be continued…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

