Creating and calling simple helper methods

Methods are named blocks of code. That means, you can call methods by name and their code blocks will execute. But how can I call them? And can I pass values into a method or retrieve values from a method? Why would I even want more than one block of code?

First thought coming into my mind is that if I find myself repeating some code, I want to make that code easier. I don’t want to type the same code twice or even more. So I put that in a block of code, a method. Having less code makes it easier to find mistakes (assuming I make mistakes), because it is well-arranged.

An example for a simple helper method is a button click event handler, that triggers the code inside that block whenever a button is clicked.

As you can see I have my Click Event Handler, in which I reference and call my method (superFormula). It only executes after calling it..

Let’s say, you want to be addressed directly, instead of reading just the words “Hello World”. By putting a certain variable, a parameter in your method, that can be achieved. In my example that parameter would be “myName”. I am assigning the value of that variable to ”Andrea”:

Of course, this doesn’t look too exciting, but think about it. You could set that value to any name, and no additional coding would be necessary.

To be continued…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

