Just another App?

I have been silent on this blog for a while now. The reason is that I have been working on an application. And I have to tell you, it is quite exciting to go through that whole process of developing your application, testing it thoroughly and finally submitting it to Marketplace.

If you think that is where the excitement ends, let me tell you, you are wrong. I am waiting for certification for my application right now, and it is as exciting.

Anyway, to get it submitted in the end, I had to solve a few issues.

In my application I am dealing with Location and Tombstoning, I am using Isolated Storage, I am making use of the application bar and I am navigating between Xaml Pages.

When I did that blog entry about Tombstoning, everything was working fine. When I needed that in my application, I was running into problems with my back key.

When I was returning to my application from a Tombstoning situation, the state where I left the application before was saved and restored. Just how it was supposed to be. But when I then wanted to terminate the application by using the back key, I was just looping through several pages in my application, but I could not exit it.

Now, I have to admit that I still really don’t have a clue why that happened. But at least I eventually I found a solution. I needed to override that initial behavior of the back key:

Another thing I want to talk about now is a great way of testing GPS readings. In another previous blog post I was writing about how to call out to a Web Service to retrieve the current location. In that post I did set a fixed latitude and longitude so I could test it on my emulator.

In the meantime I have updated my development environment from “Visual Studio 2010 Express for Windows Phone” to “Windows Phone SDK 7.1 RC” (you can download the tools here)

Anyway, with the newest tools, I can test GPS readings on my emulator with actual locations:

I just took an existing project and ran it in the emulator. In the emulator’s toolbar on the side I clicked the arrow:

That opened up another dialog:

There I can just pin different locations:

I randomly pinned one location, and my emulator indeed retrieved that latitude and longitude and showed me the right location:

Pretty neat, I think.

However, coming back to my application, that hopefully will be published later this week, there is one more thing I want to point out. In order to submit your application, there are some “Application Submission Requirements” that you need to be aware of.

Here you can find the “App Hub Application Submission Walkthrough”.

Having said that, I want to encourage everybody out there to write apps. Even if you are an absolute beginner, like I am. It’s really not that hard.

Windows Phone is a cool platform and it is a lot of fun to work on an application.

That I have submitted my first application was the end goal when I started this blog. But that doesn’t mean the end of this blog. After all, there is so much more to learn, so much more to be enthusiastic about, so much more to write about.

To be continued…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

